Learn

Michigan Boater Safety Laws

Boating on any of Lenawee County’s 52 lakes is a great way to recreate. Before you get onboard here’s a few things you should know about boater safety.

Those less than 12 years of age:

  • May operate a boat with a 6 hp engine without restrictions
  • May operate a boat with up to a 35 hp engine if they have a boater safety certificate and are supervised by a person 16 year of age or older
  • May not operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 35 hp under any conditions

Those born on or after July 1, 1996 may legally operate a boat only if they have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board.

Those born before July 1, 1996 may legally operate a boat without restrictions.

Personal Watercraft Regulations

Anyone less than 14 years of age may not legally operate a personal watercraft

(PWC) also known as a jet ski or wave runner.

Those 14 and 15 years of age may legally operate a PWC if they have obtained a boater safety certificate and are riding with or alongside a parent.

Those who are at least 16 years of age and/or born after December 31, 1978 may legally operate a PWC if they have a boater safety certificate.

Those born before December 31, 1978 may operate a PWC legally without restrictions.

You can get take a Michigan boating safety class online at www.boatED.com  When you pass the final exam you’ll be able to print out your boater safety certificate. 

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

E-Newsletter Subscription

Get the latest updates from Charles H. Gross, Attorney at Law when you sign up for our enewsletter!


View Published Newsletters.