Category Archives: Personal Protection
Once your child turns 18, they become a legal adult. As a parent you can no longer make medical, legal or financial decisions for them. A few simple legal documents will allow you to help your child in an emergency if needed. Healthcare proxyThe proxy grants you legal authority to make healthcare decision on behalf of your child […]
After you make a power of attorney, you can revoke it at any time. There are a variety of situations that would require you to do so. For example, the person named in your power of attorney is no longer able to serve. Your name has changed because of marriage or divorce. You lost the document […]
Expungement can help individuals who are trying to move one from past mistakes
You can get take a Michigan boating safety class online at www.boatED.com When you pass the final exam you’ll be able to print out your boater safety certificate.
In light of the COVID-19 natural disaster, force majeure may become a viable defense in everyday contractual obligations.
Now it is very important that you understand how your Personal Insurance Protection works as Michigan’s auto insurance reforms go into effect this summer
Recreational marijuana became legal in Michigan as of November 2018. Yet many questions remain about usage. Here are a few answers. Who can use marijuana?Under Michigan law, anyone 21 or older can use marijuana and travel with up to 2.5 oz. anywhere except on school property, a school bus or a correctional facility. Where can […]
PARENTSYou cannot, under any circumstances, give alcohol to your children’s friends, even in your own home, even with their parent’s permission. You cannot knowingly allow a person under 21 years of age to remain in your home or on your property while they are consuming or possessing alcoholic beverages IF YOU BREAK THE LAWYou can […]
TEENS Minor in Possession MIP A minor who attempts to purchase alcohol, consume alcohol or has bodily alcohol content is in violation of state statues and will face both fines and sanctions by the court. Driving Under the Influence DUI The first offense of driving under the influence is punishable by up to six month in […]
Parents would be well advised to consider the following list of teen rights and responsibilities. Michigan law defines these for teenagers once they turn 18 years of age. Rights for teens are as follows: -To vote -To make a will and power of attorney -To make their own end-of-life decisions -To sign a contract in […]