Learn

Michigan’s New Distracted Driving Law

Make note, the new distracted driving law is being enforced as of June 30, 2023. Violation of the new law can be ‘the primary or sole reason’ for a police officer to stop and issue you a citation.

The new law states it is illegal to use a hand-held cell phone or mobile electronic device to text, talk, watch videos, or go on social media while driving.

There is a hands-free exception. Phones or mobile electronic devices placed in a mount or used in hands-free or voice-operated mode may be used by drivers while driving.

Penalties for violation of the law include: a fine of $100-$250, 16-24 hours of community service, points on your driving record for repeat offenders, driving school for 3 or more violations in a 3-year period.

Teen drivers should take note. Michigan’s Kelsey’s Law, written in 2013, prohibits teen drivers with a Level 1 or Level 2 graduated license from using a cell phone while driving-regardless of whether it hand-held or voice-operated.

Michigan becomes one of 32 states to enforce distracted driving laws. Something to keep in mind while traveling.

To learn more: https://www.michigan.gov/msp/divisions/ohsp/distracted-driving


Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

E-Newsletter Subscription

Get the latest updates from Charles H. Gross, Attorney at Law when you sign up for our enewsletter!